Charlotte Richard and Marion Ferrandez y Montesinos, winners of the Côte d'Azur "My thesis in 180 seconds" final

  • Science and society
  • Education
  • Research
Published on March 27, 2024 Updated on March 27, 2024

on the March 22, 2024

Gagnants MT180 2024
Gagnants MT180 2024

Charlotte Richard (1st Jury Prize) and Marion Ferrandez y Montesinos (Audience Prize) are the winners of the 11th edition of the Côte d'Azur final of the "Ma thèse en 180 secondes" competition organized by Université Côte d'Azur, at the Maison de l'Etudiant on Thursday March 21, 2024. The two candidates will go on to Paris to take part in the national semi-final to be held from March 28 to 30.

Inspired by "Three minute thesis (3MT®)" in Australia, ma thèse en 180 secondes is a science popularization competition organized in France by France Universités and CNRS.
Since 2014, it has been challenging PhD students and young doctors to explain their research topic to the general public in French, using simple terms and a single slide, all in 3 minutes!
MT 180 2024
MT 180 2024

This year, 21 doctoral students took part in the 2024 event.
Since January, the candidates have been following a training course on writing and speaking on stage organized by Université Côte d'Azur in collaboration with the BAL company.

Re-discover all the participants in the 2024 edition
At the end of 1h30 of performances demonstrating the diversity of research topics carried out by Université Côte d'Azur laboratories, the jury*, presided by Eric Lagadec, popularizer and astronomer at the Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur, awarded 1st prize to Charlotte Richard from the Institut de Chimie de Nice. The public prize went to Marion Ferrandez y Montesinos, who also received the jury's second prize. The two doctoral students will represent Université Côte d'Azur at the semi-final held in Paris from March 28 to 30 and, we hope, at the national final to be held for the first time in Nice on June 5.

For the first year, the event welcomed 5 classes of high school students (2 secondes and 3 terminales) in partnership with the Délégation Académique à l'éducation Artistique et Culturelle of the Rectorat de Nice. Over 150 high school students were able to watch the 21 doctoral candidates perform during this special session and vote for their favorite candidate. Niels Fjerdingstad won the high school students' prize, which was presented to him by Fabienne Blaise, Rectrice déléguée pour l'enseignement supérieur, la recherche et l'innovation de la région académique PACA.

Full list of winners for this 2024 edition

1st Jury Prize

Charlotte RICHARD Nice Institute of Chemistry Aromatic typicity of Provence rosé wines: analytical and sensory approaches.

2nd Jury Prize + Audience Prize

Marion FERRANDEZ Y MONTESINOS Clinical, Cognitive and Social Anthropology and Psychology Laboratory / Cognition Behaviour Technology (CobTek) The impact of resilience on cognitive functioning, autonomy and quality of life in aging.

3rd jury prize

Antoine BARBIER-CUEIL Center for Research on Hetero-Epitaxy and its Applications New AlGaN channel transistors for high-voltage applications

High School Prize

Niels FJERDINGSTAD Valrose Institute of Biology Mechanisms and biomarkers of anxiety susceptibility

The 1st Jury Prize and the Public Prize were funded by the Fondation Université Côte d'Azur.

* The 2024 jury was made up of :
- Eric Lagadec, Jury Chairman, astronomer at the Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur
- Denis Carreaux, Director of Reof Nice Matin
- Helena Dagnogo, SICLaBMéditerranée thesis student on socionumeric media and female entrepreneurshipminin
- Maeva Dufies, Co-founder and Strategy Director of Roca Therapeutics
- Anne-Sophie Peyran, Communications & Brand Director Brand, Université Côte d'Azur
- Ludovic Rifford, Mathematics lecturer at Université Côte d'Azur